• Header
  • Header 4
  • Header 3

Dean’s Statement

The Faculty of the Social Sciences, University of Nigeria is a very large faculty comprising nine departments with over 5,000 students and 250 academic staff. Apart from the numerical strength, the faculty has been playing a leading role not only in the university but in the country and the global academic community as whole. It is therefore not surprising that the faculty has over the years, produced a number of world renowned academics and professors.

Brief History

The Faculty of the Social Sciences is the oldest Faculty of the Social Sciences in Nigeria. The Faculty started with the inception of the University with the Department of Economics, Political Science, Religion and Sociology and Anthropology. Other Departments included to the Faculty were Geography in 1961, Psychology in 1964, Philosophy in 1974, Local Government and Public Administration in 1979 and Social Work in 2001.